Jesus. Real Life.

Missionally Doin’ the Stuff (at Jesus Creed)

I’ve got a guest post today at Jesus Creed, the blog of my friend and croc provider, Scot McKnight.  Here’s an excerpt:

People familiar with John Wimber and/or the Vineyard will know what “Doin’ the stuff” refers to.  And if you want a good intro to ‘missional’ thinking, go here or here.  But what does “missional” have to do with “doin’ the stuff” that Jesus was known for?  Towards that question I want to throw a few ideas for folks in both camps to think about, because I think that the missional movement and doin’ the stuff could be a match made in heaven–and earth. It’s also why I have Wimber’s Prayer Model as a tab on this blog, because I think routinely praying for people who are sick, both with the compassion of Jesus and the power and insight of the Spirit, is a pretty missional habit to pick up.

Stop by for what should be a good conversation.

4 responses

  1. Hey T — interacted over at JCreed, but wanted to stop by and say hi. Just noticed your a lawyer. I practiced for about 13 years and now I’m a law professor in NJ. What sort of law do you practice?

    July 10, 2009 at 2:39 pm

  2. T Freeman

    I do primarily Estates & Trusts (planning & administration) as well as planning for small businesses and charities.

    I envy you, though, on the professorship! I taught Business Law as an adjunct at a local Christian university and loved it. They couldn’t make it full-time though and with two little girls and other commitments, I had to give it up–for now.

    You teach intellectual property, right? I loved your post on gleaning. I worry about the sense of entitlement that the rich have to their property more than what I’ve seen among welfare recipients.

    July 10, 2009 at 3:25 pm

  3. T, miss you guys! Your daughter(s) is beautiful!

    While I came to read up on some of your posts, I am cracking up at your links division on the sidebar. You have “Jesus’ Administration” and “Laws of Men”. Did you know that you are Augustinian? (i.e., City of God and City and Man) I love it!

    July 14, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    • T Freeman

      Unfortunately I can’t claim great familiarity with the great father of western civilization, but I did know I was ripping him off a little to organize my links. What’s a lawyer who’s obsessed with the government of Jesus to do? Dualisms may cause problems, but they sure help keep things organized!

      We miss you too. I got your email, btw. I’m really thrilled to be able to see you guys for more than just a couple of hours so soon, and I’ve not even let myself get excited about you moving back yet.

      July 14, 2009 at 1:39 pm

Leave a Reply

