Jesus. Real Life.

Go Sailfish!

Well, it’s now semi-official (I met/interviewed with the dean of the business school, Bob Myers, who makes the decision, but the president officially sends the offer). I will be teaching Business Law at PBA starting in January as an adjunct professor. I am very excited, to say the least, especially after finding out what the school wants the students to get from the course. I’m pretty confident this is a God-engineered direction. A few high points in my mind:

  • The thing the dean was most concerned with was how I planned on integrating a Theistic Christian worldview into the learning process. For example, I am specifically required to deal with things like “what constitutes success”, “social responsibility”, “conflict resolution” and the like from a Christian viewpoint and not just teach the legal playing field in a business context. The very thing I want to do–point to Jesus in an assumed secular field. Awesome.
  • I am strongly encouraged to have fun, go crazy, experiment–if it works, great; if not, try again.
  • I get to communicate with college students, at least some of which really want to talk about Jesus and how to follow him in their careers and elsewhere. I could really mention this one twice it’s so good.
  • It’s a 3000 level (junior-level) required course. They fully anticipate not everyone will pass; they expect the course to be rigorous. I don’t revel the idea of failing anyone, but it helps me to know that they (my dean, etc.) expect it to be hard, and accept the consequences of that. I get to structure the course however I want, so long as certain topics get covered. I’m thinking of what books to assign outside of the text. It might be The Challenge of Jesus by N.T. Wright.
  • Assignments, etc., can be given and posted electronically through “e-college.” Will learn more about this, but not dealing with paper always excites me.

I could go on, but you get the idea. I’m excited, and humbled. It’s a privilege.

6 responses

  1. Kyle

    Its been a long time coming. Congratulations, you deserve it.

    I just don’t know about the “Go Sailfish,” I am sensing that your loyalties may be diverting to another Caesar than God.
    Your backsliding shall be in my prayers 😉

    Bless you, I am very happy for You, Kim and Ruby.

    November 30, 2005 at 6:59 pm

  2. T

    So you’re saying I should get the tatoo removed? I had to shave my whole right buttock to get the whole fin on.

    December 1, 2005 at 1:50 am

  3. Kyle

    If it extends over both buttocks then I would keep it. I would of preferred a tatoo of NT Wright on my buttocks but it was your decision.

    December 6, 2005 at 1:43 am

  4. Chriseric

    T, I’m really, genuinely happy for you, man! From having sat accross the table from you and engaged topics as they relate to Jesus with you, I would consider it a priviledge to sit under your guidance in a university/classroom context. What blessed students! Rock on.

    December 9, 2005 at 10:49 am

  5. T

    Thanks Chris & all others who have been so encouraging. It really helps me.

    December 9, 2005 at 9:25 pm

  6. Bethany

    t, that’s so cool! those students are so blessed. 🙂

    December 15, 2005 at 11:49 am

Leave a Reply

